Skip to content

NZ Marathon Champs

2011 CRNZ NZ Kayak Marathon Championships  


17 April 2011

2011 Kayak Marathon Results

In association with Canoe Racing New Zealand, Mana Kayak Racing Club is pleased to conduct the 2011 NZ National Kayak Marathon Championships on the Porirua Harbour in Wellington.

The 2011 National Championships are inclusive of all paddle craft, abilities and age groups ie kayaks, multisport, ocean ski, surf ski and waka ama’s.

The divisions are designed to give all participants a chance of fair and close racing.

There is an separate course for Ocean Ski’s, Surf Ski’s and Waka’s that is sure to provide waves and excitement.

If you don’t want to do the full marathon then grab a partner and do it as a team.

Marathon Kayak Racing – close, tactical, exciting!!

Don’t miss out!!!

Event Details

Boat Classes:

    • K1
    • Multisport Kayak
    • Ocean Ski/Surf Ski
    • Waka ama
    • Mini K1’s and TK1’s for “Tyro” Category

Category Status:

An athlete must be under the stated age in the year of the event eg. U15 an athlete cannot turn 15 in 2011. Please refer to CRNZ Marathon Discipline Competition Rules.

    • Tyro’s (any school child in year 8 or below)
    • Junior U15
    • Junior U17
    • Junior U19
    • U23
    • Open
    • Masters 35 – 44yrs; 45 – 54yrs; 55yrs+
    • Recreational (generally for those that are new to the sport or those that don’t want to race the full marathon distance)

Event Distances:

  • Tyro’s (any school child in year 8 or below) 3.0km plus kayak rodeo races
  • Junior U15 male female 4.0km plus kayak rodeo races
  • Junior U17 male female 12km   3 Laps 3 Portages
  • Junior U19 male 20km   5 Laps 5 Portages
  • Junior U19 female 16km   4 Laps 4 Portages
  • U23 male 28km   7 Laps 7 Portages
  • U23 female 20km   5 Laps 5 Portages
  • Open  men 28km   7 Laps 7 Portages
  • Open Woman 20km   5 Laps 5 Portages
  • Masters 35 – 44yrs 20km   5 Laps 5 Portages
  • Masters 45 – 54yrs 20km   5 Laps 5 Portages
  • Masters 55yrs+ 20km   5 Laps 5 Portages
  • Recreational 8km     2 Laps 0 Portages
  • Ocean Ski/Surf Ski/Waka 15km   1 Lap  0 Portages

n.b. Only Olympic class K1’s are required to portage. No portaging for multisport competitors

The Course:

The kayak and multisport course is located on Porirua Harbour and will consist of a 4km lap. The course will predominantly be set beside the shoreline with the maximum distance from the shoreline being 50m. The course is sheltered from the predominant northerly wind.

The start finish line will be in front of the MKRC clubrooms.

The portage will be approximately 150m long. You will disembark onto a pontoon and run up a short 5m bank then onto a tar sealed area. The embarkment area involves a 1m steeply angled drop down to the water . Carpet will be in place to protect your feet from the small stones in this area.

The Ocean Ski/ Surf Ski and Waka ama course follows around the headland of the Titahi Bay from the start finish line located in the Porirua Harbour. The course distance is approximately 15km .

Race Schedule:

Sunday 17th April 7am Registration

7– 8am Boat Control

8am Race Briefing

8:45am Open Men,U23 Men, Masters Men Start

8:50am Open Woman, U23 Woman, Masters Woman

8:55am U19 Men

9am Ocean Ski/Surf Ski/Waka Ama (all divisions) Start

9:03am U19 Woman, U17 Men

9:05am U17 Woman

9:10am U15 Men, U15 Woman, Tyro’s Men, Tyro’s Woman

9:45am U15 and Tyro’s Rodeo

11:30am Dash for Cash

12pm Lunch and Prizegiving

  • CRNZ Marathon Rules apply.
  • All competitors must pass through boat control before entering the water.
  • Spray skirts are advisable.
  • All junior athletes (Tyro’s, U15, U17,U19) must wear a PFD. All other competitors must carry or wear a PFD.
  • Team Competitors must paddle alternate laps.
  • Refer to MKRC Website for all details associated to the 2011 National Kayak Marathon Championships.  including online entries.


To enter online: use the Online Entry Form.

For manual entry: Entry Form – Marathon champs (print and complete).

%d bloggers like this: